Artist Links

Official Website
Last Fm
To get fresh updates from Gate and other Fluttery Records artists please join the monthly newsletter

|˟˟| pronounced ‘Gate’, is an experiment in improvised music by Lajos Ishibashi-Brons, a Dutch philosopher and musician living in Japan. The name of the project, ‘Gate’, summarizes its intended nature: a gate is in between, in between inside and outside, between here and there, between now and then; and a gate is a passageway, both an entrance and an exit, and a point where paths cross. The symbol |˟˟| is a simplification of the ‘broken gate radical’ 鬥, which (on its own) is a Chinese character meaning ‘struggle’, representing another core theme of the project: dissonance, discomfort, distress.

Gate is an experiment in two senses: the project makes heavy use of experimental instruments designed and built for just this purpose, and the project’s music extrapolates experiments with sound: it is always an experimental setting, technique, or process that sets further musical developments into motion. The resulting soundscapes are somewhere in between noise, free jazz, drone, ambient, industrial, and East and Central-Asian traditional music. They are not necessarily ‘pleasant’ soundscapes, however, or at least not intended to be, but rather expressions of the project’s themes: indeterminacy (‘in between’), confrontation (‘crossing paths’), dissonance. They are reflections of the world we live in, not attempts to embellish it.

Releases By This Artist

|˟˟| ( Gate)
Release Date: 14 January 2013
listen & buy

|˟˟| ( Gate)
Release Date: 21 April 2011
listen & buy

|˟˟| ( Gate )
Release Date: 06 August 2010
listen & buy

|˟˟| ( Gate )
No Exit
Release Date: 15 November 2009 listen & buy



Twitter rss youtube
All rights reserved © Fluttery Records

Home Twitter Facebook YouTube Artists Releases Blog Shop Sampler Donate About