06 Oct 2017

Fading Tapes – Circles


Track List

1. First Circle
2. Second Circle
3. Third Circle
4. Fourth Circle
5. Fifth Circle

Fading Tapes - Circles

Fading Tapes was formed in 2014 by Krzysztof Siwkowski (guitars and synths) and Marcin Lasek (drums and other effects) in Szczytno, Poland, mainly playing space-rock / post-rock and ambient music. Their main inspirations are independent cinema and life itself.

They started their musical journey in 2006 long before they became Fading Tapes. In the beginning they focused on genres like ambient and electronic. They pivoted their sound and started to play live instruments such as classic guitars and african drums, combined with synthesizers and extraordinary sounds and voices. They decided to change main instruments to only electric guitars, which creates today their specific spatial sounds and effects, and percussion which gives sharpness, psychedelic or gentle space rhythm. Since then they formed as a Fading Tapes.

Circles is their second album for Fluttery Records. It is an album heavily relies on artistic creativity and improvisation. “In the beginning there was one circle, the life cycle from which the five minor were made, of which the fifth was the crown, the dark end.” says the band members.

Almost everything was recorded on tape reels, so we got strong saturated, analog sounds. This album has more dynamic songs with sharp and heavy percussion and deep, organic guitar background.

Release Date: October 20, 2017
© Fluttery Records

Also available on:
13 Sep 2017

Fading Tapes – Music From Attic


Track List

1. Stars
2. Lighthouse
3. Surface
4. You May Finally Fall Asleep
5. Lamplighter

Fading Tapes - Music From Attic

This is the debut album of the Polish band Fading Tapes, which was formed by the guitarist (Krzysztof Siwkowski) and the drummer (Marcin Lasek), which connected the same journey of melancholic, sublime and subtle sounds, with some story that can be compared to Stars of the Lid or Surface of Eceon, but also slightly heavier, like Godspeed You! Black Emperor. They like to go beyond well-known sounds and experiments with them, stayed at the clearly melodic sound at the same time.

Album was made in attic, late summer. In silent, lonesome space that was ready to cooperate with the band that allowed to create this spatial atmosphere. They find there a new instrument, some kind of trumpet that was used as a thready, tearful voice. "Music From Attic" have long, dreaming guitar compositions decorated with the silenced or sharpened sounds of percussion. Every song is a story expressed instrumental lyricism. A story that was mostly improvised. It means that there was no any plan, no arrangement, only experiences of everyday life and sounds that moved artists to specific, imaginary places, when they could create the stories. As they themselves admit, each song has its own story that can be received in various ways every time.

Release Date: May 11, 2017
© Fluttery Records

Also available on: