10 Oct 2018

Sky Flying By – (Re) Routed


Track List

1. A Thousand Miles of Everything
2. Forgetting Sky
3. Keep a Weather Eye Open
4. Completely Lost
5. The Dream of a Promise Fulfilled
6. The Road Ends Where the Sea Begins
7. When the Clouds Clear, We’re Gone
8. Wind Unwind
9. You Were Right, Again
10. Stopping for The Breaking Waves

Sky Flying By – (Re) Routed

Sky Flying Bird is a post-rock project by David Palmer, who is based in Boston, US. He, as Sky Flying By, builds worlds out of music.

His music career began with a cardboard box drum set, and he hasn’t lost any of the creativity or imagination along the way. His musical worlds are deep and rich, full of graceful melody and arcs of delicate strings, where the notes fly and dip and soar and the drums build bridges that carry you safely across. Not just ordinary drums; he pulls in African, Asian, and Latin elements in addition to standard drum kits to give a variety of audio textures. He experiments until the alchemy is perfect, exploring different ways to use analog instrumentation in conjunction with synths, mixing live string sounds with digital to create new tones, or stretching a sound out digitally to give a familiar instrument an entirely new voice. He’ll use anything that works, from a bow on a guitar to yes, even a cardboard box.

Making music is about making something new, about going on a journey. Sometimes, though,it isn’t about where you’re going, but who you are, and who you become, along the way. And after you’ve grown and changed, you revisit the places where you’ve been, seeing them with new eyes. Sky Flying By is revisiting the places where it all started in the new album (Re) Routed.

New listeners will be charmed by the depth of sound and the combination of simple melodies with complicated undercurrents that Sky Flying By is known for. Long-time fans will be thrilled to hear this album, too- it represents a new zenith of skill from an already talented musician. Working with some equally skilled backup, Sky Flying By has created an album that leaps out of its post-rock niche and will be loved by anyone who really appreciates beauty in music.

Release Date:  October 26, 2018
© Fluttery Records

Also available on:
09 Sep 2017

Sky Flying By – Miscellany


Track List

1. Untitled No. Two
2. Laura
3. The Last Place You Looked
4. Have You Found Home?
5. Left Unfinished
6. The Last Tenth
7. December

Sky Flying By - Miscellany

Miscellany, an epic sensation of one man post-rock band Sky Flying By was a long time in the making. No one, including Sky Flying By, knew it. Over the course of five years and four releases there tends to be a collection of songs that simply get discarded for no apparent reason. Not that they were bad, or some how lacking, they just didn't fit, attention was drawn to other pieces that some how made it on to one of those records.

Miscellany is taking stock, revisiting those old forgotten songs that never quite got that finishing treatment others did.

This is a collection of half finished songs, worked on over the years, some released in their incomplete state, others never seeing the light of day - a cross section of where Sky Flying By was at that time until now where each piece was re-mixed, many parts re-recorded, all in an effort to take half finished ideas and transform them into fully realized songs that can now stand on their own.

Release Date: January 27, 2017
© Fluttery Records

Also available on: