06 Oct 2017

We Deserve This – Tearing


Track List

1. Zauber
2. Tearing
3. Clear
4. Halo

We Deserve This - Tearing

We Deserve This is a one man project formed in the year 2010 by a German composer Jan-Dirk Platek.

This is his fifth release on Fluttery Records and it’s kind of strange how his sounds expand from one release to another. The EP contains 4 new songs which are played, recorded, mixed and mastered by Jan-Dirk Platek in his hometown Velbert in Germany. We Deserve This is known for a prolific release schedule and it’s safe to say that “Tearing“ is Jan-Dirk Platek’s most ambitious work. Beautiful piano textures under layers of ambient soundscapes. He produced an outstanding mixture of ambient, modern classical, electronic music / downtempo and post-rock. The melancholic feeling is still here but this time, We Deserve This is going a step further in the experimental electronic scene in the like of Kiasmos, Grandbrothers or Hybrid.

The four songs are all composed on a piano which you can hear deep in the sound of every song. These songs are like a lonely walk in the mountains, always fresh and overwhelming. Jan-Dirk Platek shows us once more that he can create films and visuals in our heads only with his film score type of music. Now, get lost in the beautiful sounds of “Tearing“. If you’re into modern classical or ambient / electronic music, you should give this EP a try. Melancholic but not depressive, dark shadows under bright lights - a musical journey, enjoy!

Release Date: October 27, 2017
© Fluttery Records

*This is a digital only release

Also available on:
13 Sep 2017

We Deserve This – Smile


Track List

1. Smile
2. Words
3. Unnahbar
4. Gloom
5. Der Wandel
6. Undecided

We Deserve This - Smile

Smile is the fourth album from We Deserve This releases on Fluttery Records. It`s a journey back to the roots of We Deserve This. This release is a guitar driven and heavy post-rock / post-metal album with lots of melodies that will stick in your head for a long time. You can hear the influences of 90`s rock music combined with the heaviness of modern post-metal and post-rock. Jan-Dirk Platek has created a wonderful 6-song album.

The only thing you have to do is to close your eyes and dream away. Walls of sound will hit you like a train while lovely melodies and textures will catch your heart. The intention of the album is to make you smile. And that is probably the first thing while you are blasting this album on your stereo. Heavy and lovely. Smile.

Release Date: February 24, 2017
© Fluttery Records

Also available on:
12 Sep 2017

We Deserve This – Floating Colors


Track List

1. Black
2. White
3. Red
4. Blue
5. Yellow
6. Green

We Deserve This - Floating Colors

"Floating Colors" is the third album from Germany`s We Deserve This for Fluttery Records. Jan-Dirk Platek`s output is overwhelming and there`s no way to stop him. He once said: "I`m addicted to music and the creative process in writing and recording new music. I just can`t stop because my mind is full of new ideas." His new album "Floating Colors“ is about Synesthesia.

Synesthesia is a perceptual condition of mixed sensations: a stimulus in one sensory modality (e.g., hearing) involuntarily elicits a sensation/experience in another modality (e.g. vision). Likewise, perception of a form (e.g., a letter) may induce an unusual perception in the same modality (e.g. a color).

Can you imagine seeing colors when hearing music? Do you ever wanted to know what color your favorite song is? "Floating Colors" has 6 songs, all named after a certain color. Jan described his new album as an experience in both songwriting and recording process. It`s like the missing link between "Pacific" and "Fusion", ambient music dominated heavier sounds.

Before the recording Jan bought an analog Novation Bass Station 2 and you can hear this synth in every song. "I wanted to explore new ways to expand the sound of We Deserve This and the mission is accomplished." says Jan. The record sounds like an innovative instrumental record from the future with wonderful piano lines, heavy guitars and some kind of strange sounds.

"I need to go forward and everyone`s lifetime is limited, I don`t want to stuck in the past - the future is wide open" Jan says regarding Floating Colors. This album is something special with all these melancholy that comes out of these songs. If you`re able to expand your horizon then you really have to check this out. It´s like the beauty in colors/sound. To dig all the little details in the sound headphones are highly recommended.

Release Date:  May 20, 2016
© Fluttery Records

Also available on:
09 Sep 2017

We Deserve This – Pacific


Track List

1. The Moon, The Stars And Everything Else
2. Pacific
3. Atlantic
4. A Cloud And A Memory
5. Pre Caution / Post Action
6. 12/13/13
7. I Quit
8. The Serious Ending

We Deserve This - Pacific

We Deserve This is a one man project formed in the year 2010 by Jan-Dirk Platek. The music can find itself a place in the post-rock, post-metal area in the genres palette.

Jan was born in 1976 in Germany and he is a multi-instrumentalist who plays all the instruments on the record. He thinks that the biggest influence was his grandfather in his musical journey. The grandfather was a music teacher and helped him to learn to play various instruments pretty fast. Also he works as a sound and light technician in a theatre in Germany. He says that this playing with sounds and lights has helped him to look at the things in different angles which also influences the way he makes music.

Pacific is a very dark record with lots of post-metal influences. Heavy riffs combined with melancholic melodies are creating a massive wall-of-sound. Jan says "We Deserve This has a lot of different influences but Pacific is the darkest record in my mind-blowing discography." If you need a dark, heavy record with catchy riffs than this is exactly what you need. You can chill to these record but also bang your head as hard as you can - both aspects are included.

Release Date:  October 09, 2015
© Fluttery Records

Also available on:
07 Sep 2017

We Deserve This – Fusion


Track List

1. Fusion
2. The Ornament
3. Triangle
4. We Dream In Circles
5. Papercuts
6. Welcome Dear Monument

We Deserve This - Fusion

We Deserve This is a one man project formed in the year 2010 by Jan­Dirk Platek. He was born in 1976 in Germany and he is a multi-­instrumentalist who plays all the instruments on the record. We are used to hear edgy post­-rock / post metal tunes from him. In the past Jan created beautiful but heavy instrumentals with guitars, drums and bass. While recording Fusion, he didn’t touch the guitars. In this album Jan creates symphonic music with the piano as the most important element.

Inspired by Hammock, Ludovico Einaudi and HeklAa he composed six melancholic and sad songs with beautiful textures and slow beats. We Deserve This new album “Fusion” is an ambient/post­classical journey with wonderful harmonies and warm melodies. This album is kind of overwhelming with all the string arrangements and melodies. You can't even say that this is a post­-rock record. The "rock" element with real drums and massive guitar walls is no longer important.

We Deserve This has reached a new level in songwriting and you won't regret a single second listening to it. This record is a very melancholic piece of music. "Fusion" is the perfect album for our modern, hectic style of living. Don't hurry ­ just close your eyes and dive into the sound. It's more Ambient than Rock and it makes you forget your bad day. Try it, you won't regret it.

Release Date: January 16, 2016
© Fluttery Records

Also available on: