Ghost Island – Destroyer


Track List

1. Tall Tears
2. What We Can And Cannot See
3. Mice On a Ship
4. Glacial
5. Flood Damage
6. In Time, In Roads
7. Utsuro-bune
8. Acherusia
9. The Last Star’s Light

Ghost Island – Destroyer


Ghost Island is a post-rock band from Phoenix and they seek to relive your most ecstatic bliss just before confronting your most impenetrable fears. The band’s music makes you feel far from home while offering a comforting solace that comes from within.

Initially planned as a small EP release by John, Destroyer blossomed into a full-length album once John and Roddy began collaborating. Written from a place of self-reflection, the album reflects John’s crumbling network and inner circle of friends, stemming from his previous band's breakup; Destroyer takes a dark journey through nine tracks full of doubt, anger, fatigue, and loss. Recorded entirely in a small bedroom in Phoenix, Arizona, and mixed in-house, Destroyer represents the initial foundations of a band still discovering it’s identity while trying to survive as individuals. The album was first released independently by the band in 2015. Three years later, Fluttery Records releases a remastered re-issue of the album.

John Romero of Ghost Island says, “This album represented a fresh start and a huge release of emotions following the break up of Cassiopeia, my previous band. It was an honor to be able to work with Roddy, as we soon discovered that we push each other musically, and compliment each other’s style so very well. The album is still very experimental to me, as there is one whole concept surrounding the title itself, but each song on this album stands well on its own and doesn’t need any back story to help understand it.

The Siren Sound: "Each track on ‘Destroyer’ constantly opens new avenues to explore, but in a continuous and structured fashion. That in mind, the real pride and exultation of Ghost Island debut is how they’ve managed to put together such beautiful noises yet remaining extremely approachable without losing their sense of adventure. This debut album can shift between accessible to enigmatic and back without you even noticing it. That’s how fluid the sound is. Truthfully speaking, the final outcome is outstanding; how outstanding it is though, is up to you to decide, but there is no denying that what the music Ghost Island creates is something else, something rarely found from other musicians in the same scene.”

Release Date:  March 3, 2018
© Fluttery Records

Also available on: