Petricor – First Breath


Track List

1. 8
2. People
3. Naked
4. Last Breath
5. Unbroken Horses
6. Saudade
7. Super8


First Breath

Petricor is an Italian post-rock band was established in September 2016. From the very beginning, they started writing their own music. The band members tell that when they compose they chase after 'melodic riffs with deep atmospheres' and 'sudden or growing explosions.' One of other things they take very seriously what they call "primitive sensations" and they explain this process as creating emotion without using words and let their listeners involved in this atmosphere of senses.

The listening experience leaves one sated rather than starving. Because each of the tracks is developed and nearly uniform in timbre. Their music can be described as post-rock with a strong focus on melody, mixed with hints of shoegaze and dreamy dissonances. Energetic, pure and elegantly melodic dynamism.

The album title ‘First Breath’ is connected to the sense of smell, highlighted by the cover artwork that also explains the meaning of Petricor which stands for a pleasant smell that frequently accompanies the first rain after a long period of warm, dry weather.

Band members say "One of the aims we had while recording the album is to create a sense of liberation that makes the listener want to free the energy out of their body.' Also they invite their listeners to find their own interpretation in the instrumental tracks.

Their motto is: ‘Close your eyes, let the melody takes you away, and you will be able to perceive the words even if no one is telling anything’.

Release Date:  June 28, 2019
© Fluttery Records

Also available on: